Me Made May 2014

MMM14logosmall_zps4c53888b

 

This is my pledge for my first ever Me-Made-May!!!

‘I, Maeve, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’14. I endeavour to wear at least one me made item each day for the duration of May 2014.

 

 

MMM14 Day 1 Audrey in Unst Cardigan & Sewaholic Minoru Jacket.

MMM14 Day 1 Audrey in Unst Cardigan & Sewaholic Minoru Jacket.

 

So how am I going to make this work for me???? Well to complicate matters we are off on holidays next Sunday for a week. This is going to be a rugged outdoor hiking, walking, playing on the (chilly) beach type of holiday. Our holiday cottage is in the middle of nowhere a few Kms from a very small village. My ideal holiday.

Right, what I needed for this week away was a new pair of hiking pants, I have older ones but they are from my serious field work jobs and are a bit too serious. I found a respectable pattern in my modest stash of Burda magazines.

20140430_10233120140430_102348

I applied my pants modifications that I figured out from a craftsy course about 2 years ago – you know –Β theΒ curves and all that. I ordered some poly cotton from Pennine Outdoor. Have to say I got great service – I emailed them a while back because I couldn’t figure out what type of fabric would work for my pants and got a prompt reply with suggestions. I ordered and received it within 2/3 days -from the UK to the parcel motel near me.

Burda 118 04/2010

Burda 118 04/2010

20140430_111109

 

 

I muslined a pair last week after my Easter guests had left – I hadn’t sewn for over 3 weeks so was itching to sew. I cut the size 44 with my adjustments and drafted a curved waistband cos they suit my wide hips/narrow waist curves. There is supposed to be two side cargo style pockets but as I was under time pressure I gave up after one. I’d need to practise this technique. My RTW hiking pants only have one pocket and I’ve survived with these for years!!

20140430_111118

 

My other little helpers for MMM are a few pairs of underwear I have made/hope to make over the course of the month to replace all my very old worn out M&S pairs. I found the SOZO free pattern is a good fit and I’ve tried one paire from Gerties Slip pattern using jersey scraps. I would like to try one of MeasuretwicecutonceΒ new patterns too.

My running gear is also going to count – the PB jam leggings and XYT top and the Duathlon leggings.

 

If I have time I’m going to make more seperates- tshirts, shirts, more pants maybe. Then I’ll be on a skirt frenzy for June. I didn’t really like most of the skirts I wore last summer in the heatwave we had so have a few new patterns to try out – Sewaholic Crescent skirt is first on the list.

 

I will write an occasional post about my progress at MMM14 but I am not going to overdo it, I’ll post on IG or twitter more often, but this is just as much for me to wear a bit more of my me made wardrobe.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Me Made May 2014

  1. It’s surprising how much you find you have to wear when you focus on it! I have worn a couple of things that haven’t had much use and it has pushed me to get started on some basic tops so I will have whole outfits!

  2. I’ve been making some So Zo undies lately too – they’re such a fun, quick, and useful project. Enjoy your vacation and your new hiking pants! I’m sure they’ll get plenty of use. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

